One Light, One Girl, About One Minute

ImageI haven’t posted in about a week, and that’s probably because I’m back from vacation, busy starting a new business, and have had very little to say, but much more to absorb.  But, yesterday, Alison was about to go out with friends to a waterpark, and I knew I was going to miss her…so I asked her to let me take a couple of pictures.  I had a whole setup at hand, but I knew that what I wanted was an intimate picture of my little girl.  It was a simple picture I was after, and I didn’t have much time, so I aimed my silver umbrella so that the light inside just brushed against her.  This left much of her in darkness.  There was just enough fall-off to give a hint of the back wall.  She left, I was alone, and I thought about how quickly our kids grow up and grow out of us.  Image

The above is an approximation of how I let her.  The umbrella was probably 3 feet from her, and about 5 to 6 feet from the rear wall.  I used fairly low power, probably 1/4 or 1/8th on one of my speedlights.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

